Creative Correction by Lisa Whelchel

By: Delana H Stewart

I recently ordered a stack of books to add to a library of resources to assist families. So, these last three posts for my Christmas countdown are going to be books on my to-read list for the new year. Today, I want to highlight one of these books. The first one, Creative Correction: Extraordinary Ideas for Everyday Discipline, was written by Lisa Whelchel and published by Tyndale House Publishers as a Focus on the Family resource. As many other moms my age, television introduced me to the author when she starred as Blair on the hit TV series The Facts of Life. She has three young children, one with ADHD. The newest edition of this book includes a special section specifically providing tips for dealing with toddlers. I especially like how she uses teachable moments to apply scripture in her parenting.

I am looking forward to reading her book and sharing with you tips I learn…as well as trying out some of her ideas with my daughter. In the beginning of her book, she provides this disclaimer, “If you bought Creative Correction thinking you had finally found the book, please close it immediately and return it for a full refund. I’m not about to make false promises. If, on the other hand, you’ve realized that what works for one child may not necessarily work for another, and that some creativity is in order, Creative Correction is the book for you.”

If you’ve read this book, I’d love to hear your thoughts on it so please leave a comment below.

Read a follow-up review of this book written in March 2011 called Surviving Parenting: In Tears and Laughter

From Amazon for about $10.

Lisa Whelchel’s homeschool site.

Lisa Whelchel on “Mom Time.”

2 thoughts on “Creative Correction by Lisa Whelchel

  1. Pingback: Surviving Parenting: In Tears and Laughter | The Education Cafe

  2. Pingback: Pick Ten | The Education Cafe

Leave a Reply

