Of Words and Wisdom

Delana H. Stewart

Hmmm. Wonder Woman or Betty Crocker? Super model or Martha Stewart? Best Soccer Mom or …

What do you want your kids to remember about you? What do you want other parents, co-workers, teachers, and friends to say about your kids? In chapters 2 and 3 of Creative Correction author Lisa Whelchel helps us think through our priorities in parenting. Is our goal of disciplining our kids just to get some peace and quiet? Or, is it so that others think we are great parents? She encourages us to look beyond those reasons and discipline with the goal of instilling Godly character into our children and instilling the desire to draw close to God (including a hunger for reading His Word).

Throughout this book Lisa provides what she calls “toolboxes.” In the chapter 3 toolbox, she provides scripture references to deal with issues, such as: attentiveness, attitude, complaining, greed, kindness, respect, and responsibility. In the chapter 4 toolbox, she tells stories that she uses with her own children to paint word pictures to deal with these and other childhood issues.

I must confess that I have often disciplined with the end goals of peace and quiet…as well as the desire to have a sweet child that everyone adores. I know in my heart that my greater desire is to guide my children into a right relationship with God. Lisa has given me new ideas and reminded me of old favorites to help the discipline steer my daughter closer to God.

What do I want said about my kids…and what do I want them to say about me?  Last year, a youth leader encouraged me greatly by saying how wonderful it was getting to know my sons, seeing their deep love for God, their godly character, and their desire to discuss things from a scriptural perspective. To me, this is one of the best things anyone can tell a mom about her kids!

This week, my daughter came home with a book she made at school called “My Family.” Yes, this is the same daughter we adopted four years ago who sometimes declares she wants to go back and get a different family. But not today.  Anyway, she made a page for each person in the family, drew a picture, and wrote a sentence about what that person does. She said that dad makes great pizza. She said various things about each brother either being at college or studying Spanish. I really did not know what to expect when it came to my page. It could have been  “Mommy likes to punish me.” Or it could have been “Mommy spends lots of time on her computer.” Or, Mommy cooks a lot of food and washes our clothes.

What did my little child see? I turned the page and was blessed 1000 times over when I read: “Mommy likes to read books about Jesus.”
“Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:”

New International Version (©1984) Proverbs 31:28

See also:

Leave a Reply

