National Poetry Month — Exposed

Snow

In honor of National Poetry Month, I decided to re-post this poem. For some great ideas for incorporating poetry in the classroom, encouraging your kids/students to write and read poetry, and for interesting facts and activities about National Poetry Month…click here.

Exposed

And the storm came…

Ripping every leaf off my branches,

Bending my agile frame,

Weighing down every branch.

And the rains came…

Stripping every deadened limb,

Rending the bark from my trunk,

Laying bare my fragile heart.

And winter came…

Nipping at my exposed roots,

Ending my growth, as I lie dormant

Staying lifeless.

Then spring came…

Blooming with love,

Blossoming with hope,

Bearing much fruit!

By: Delana S (c) 2001

 

For additional poetry, check out the Encouragement tab on this blog, or check out the poetry on my personal blog.

Leave a Reply

