Raising Multilingual Children

preschool kids, kindergarten class Is it OK to speak to my child in my native language?

Will speaking to my child in English make it harder for him to learn Turkish when he goes to school?

My husband speaks to our daughter in Russian. I want to speak to her in English.  Won’t she get confused?

If we only speak to our child in Dari, will he lose his ability to speak in English?

My child insists on talking to me in Turkish.  How can I help her maintain English?

My child is learning Kazakh as a second language.  What should I do if he makes mistakes?

My child seems embarrassed when I speak to him in my native language. What can I do?

What else can I do to help my child become a reader and writer?

Is it OK to read books to my child in my native language?

If I only read to my child in my native language (English), will he ever learn to read in English (Farsi)?

Should my child learn to read first in our native language or in the language of our host country?

Though some of the following articles are directed to children of another language living in the US and learning English, they can have some great crossovers for your children. Wherever it says “English” substitute the language of the culture in which you live.  Wherever it says “native language” substitute English.

For the article that answers the above questions, click on these: http://www.pbs.org/parents/readinglanguage/articles/multifamilies/main.html

Talking with Children Learning Two Languages (PBS)

Reading to Children Learning Two Languages (PBS)

Questions Parents Ask When Raising Multilingual Children (PBS)

See other articles on this blog:

Bringing Up Children Bilingually

Raise A Bilingual Child: 5 Strategies to Jump Start Second Language Learning For Your Child

Multilingual Resources–updated

Other Articles on the Web:

Raising Bilingual Children: The Snags http://www.omniglot.com/language/articles/bilingualkids3.htm

For some tips for parents whose children are learning two or more languages, check out this article:

http://www.cal.org/resources/Digest/earlychild.html

Learning Two Languages in Early Childhood

http://www.madison.k12.wi.us/tnl/lilm/docs/parent_pages/english/learning_two_languages.pdf

Books:

Though I have not personally viewed any of these books, here are some that you may be interested in finding out more about.  On Amazon.com it is possible to view the table of contents on some of these books, as well as read product descriptions:

A Parents’ & Teachers’ Guide to Bilingualism (Parents’ & Teachers’ Guides) (Paperback) http://www.amazon.com/Parents-Teachers-Guide-Bilingualism-Guides/dp/1853594555/ref=pd_sim_b_title_5

Dual Language Development and Disorders: A Handbook on Bilingualism and Second Language Learning (Communication and Language Intervention Series) (Paperback) http://www.amazon.com/Dual-Language-Development-Disorders-Communication/dp/1557666865/ref=pd_sim_b_title_9

And Then There Were Two: Children and Second Language Learning (2nd Edition) (The Pippin Teacher’s Library) (Paperback) http://www.amazon.com/Then-There-Were-Two-Children/dp/0887511007/ref=sr_1_32?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1210156227&sr=1-32

Language (Learning Through Play) (Paperback)

http://www.amazon.com/Language-Learning-Through-Play-Scholastic/dp/0590491741/ref=sr_1_58?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1210156409&sr=1-58

Raising Multilingual Children: Foreign Language Acquisition and Children (Hardcover) http://www.amazon.com/Raising-Multilingual-Children-Language-Acquisition/dp/0897897501/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1210157647&sr=1-1

 

5 thoughts on “Raising Multilingual Children

  1. Pingback: Places to Research Children Learning Second or Multiple Languages | The Education Cafe

  2. Pingback: Multilingual Resources–updated | The Education Cafe

  3. Pingback: Raise A Bilingual Child: 5 Strategies to Jump Start Second Language Learning For Your Child | The Education Cafe

  4. Pingback: Bringing Up Children Bilingually | The Education Cafe

  5. Pingback: Sharing Resources: Parenting (from The Education Cafe) « 3rdculturechildren

Leave a Reply

