Who Moved My Cheese?

A few years back, I came across the book Who Moved My Cheese by Dr. Spencer Johnson. cheese, transition, movingHaving experienced many transitions living abroad, my family knew what it was like to have our cheese moved. Recently, we have returned to living full time in the U.S. for the first time in a really long time, and I am already discovering that someone moved my cheese . . . and my bread, and everything else that I keep trying to find and cannot locate! I suppose it is time for me to revisit this classic.

Now on Youtube you can find out more about this book in video and audio formats. The author has also written teen and kid versions.

(Review from 2009 below by Jake Ryan)

This successful business book, so claimed by the Daily Telegraph, is written by best-selling co-author of The One Minute Manager. Who Moved My Cheese? is a simple parable that reveals profound truths. It is an amusing and enlightening story of four characters that live in a maze and look for the Ultimate Cheese.

The cheese in the story is an allegory of your goal in life–whether it is a good education, a caring family, riches or a possession, good health or spiritual peace. And the maze is where you look for that goal–your school, or your family or town.

So if you want to learn how to deal with change or what right response to make, you should read this book.

*********************************************************************************

For more on Transitions and Moving see:

Tips for TCKs Transitioning to University

A Dr. Seuss Twist on Expats and Transitions

Boarding School Readiness and Transition

Transitioning: Saying Good-bye and Moving On

Adventures In-Between

Leave a Reply

